FloridaNet Executive Committee

CHAIR: Heath Beach, Florida Department of Management Services, Director of Telecommunications
Governor’s Office: Eric Larson,  Interim Executive Director/ CIO
Homeland Security Advisor: Donna Uzzell, Florida Department of Law Enforcement
Florida Police Chiefs Association: Daniel Alexander, Boca Raton Police Department
Tribal Representative: Vacant, Seminole Tribe of Florida
Tribal Representative: Ray Weeks, Miccosukee Tribe
Florida Sheriffs Association: Steve Casey, Executive Director
Department of Management Services: Vacant
Division of Emergency Management: Phil Royce, SWIC
Florida Department of Health: Mike McHargue
                   Ex Officio: Dr. Joe Nelson, Florida EMS Advisor
                   Ex Officio: John Wilgis, Florida Hospital Association
                   Ex Officio: April Henkel, Florida Health Care Association
                   Ex Officio: Dr. Peter Pappas, Holmes Regional Medical Center, SparrowNet
Technical Committee Chair: Greg Holcomb, Lake County Public Safety
Finance Committee Chair: Vacant
Florida Department of Economic Opportunity: Sherri Martin, Rural Economies
Private Sector: Vacant
Private Sector: Vacant
Florida Fire Chiefs Association: Evan Bestland, Palm Beach County Fire Rescue
State-wide EMS Representative: Greg Rubin, Miami-Dade Fire Rescue
Florida Army National Guard: Major Ralph Sullenberger
Florida Department of Transportation: Paul J. Steinman, P.E. District Seven Secretary

Purpose of FloridaNet Governance Structure

The creation of the FloridaNet Executive Committee is to oversee the efforts involved in assessing Florida’s strategy for connecting with FirstNet.  The Committee will work to achieve broad participation of the public safety community and its private sector partners in Florida to plan for FirstNet implementation, including design, operation, and governance.

  • Required by the FirstNet/NTIA grant process
  • Representative governance body responsive to the Governor
  • Ensure a superior product through broad participation
  • Participation by the private sector
  • Achieve balance between broad participation and agility
  • Provide appropriate forums for FirstNet issues

FloridaNet Executive Committee Bylaws

FloridaNet Executive Committee Meetings